Overview:

Defensive Driving or Driver Improvement: Regulated by Georgia Department of Driver Services. Defensive Driving or Driver Improvement is a 6 hour class, at a fee of no more than $95.00. Main reasons to take this class are drivers license points reduction, insurance fee reduction or to have a driver’s license reinstated. Driver improvement class focuses on safety and provides the knowledge and safe driving techniques to help prevent collisions.Behind-the-wheel instruction is not a requirement for this program. At the end of the class you will receive a DDS Certificate of Completion.

About 1 ACT Defensive Driving School in Sandy Springs:

1 ACT DUI & Defensive Driving School in Atlanta (Sandy Springs) Georgia is by far the best traffic school in the State of Georgia. Dozens of online reviews ( google, Yelp, Yellow Pages) testify to this fact. All DUI and Defensive Driving schools are owned privately. You would want to know about level of service and facility before enrolling to in a 6 hour Driver Improvement class. Our instructors are genuinely caring, highly educated and certified by Georgia Department of Driver services. We offer Defensive driving classes on weeknights, Saturdays, and Sundays. No other DUI or Defensive Driving school comes close in offering our level of care, service , and facility. Click the review page and see it for yourself.

More useful information:

The Department of Driver Services (DDS) regulates Driver Improvement Clinics (DI) also referred to as Defensive Driving Clinics (DDC). 1 Act Defensive Driving School provides curriculums which are approved by Georgia Department of Driver Services.

Georgia courts will consider removing points from your driving record if you participate in a six hour Georgia Defensive Driving/ Driver Improvement class. Georgia Department of Driver Services law mandates that you can only participate in a Defensive Driving program every five years in order to have points removed off your Georgia driving record. The judge overseeing your traffic violation will consider dismissing the ticket entirely if you have a good driving record and enroll in an Department of driver Services approved defensive driving school. 1 ACT Defensive Driving School will assist you during your registration to select the proper category and reason for taking the 6 hour Driver Improvement class. In most cases it will be for point reduction from your driving record, or for insurance purposes to reduce your insurance premium.

Points System and Suspension of Licenses

Georgia drivers receive points on their Georgia driving record each time they are convicted of one of several traffic violations,

Points per Violation

Points are issued and accumulated in a variety of ways. Below is a sampling of common offenses and their point assignments:

  • Reckless driving: 4 points
  • Unlawfully passing a school bus: 6 points
  • Improper passing on a hill or curve: 4 points
  • Speeding (miles per hour over the speed limit):15-18 MPH: 2 points
    19-23 MPH: 3 points
    24-34 MPH: 4 points
    34 MPH or more: 6 points
  • Disobedience of any traffic-control device or traffic officer: 3 points
  • Possessing an open container of an alcoholic beverage while driving: 2 points
  • Failure to secure a load: 2 points
  • All other moving violations: 3 points
  • Child restraint (first offense): 1 point
  • Child restraint (second and subsequent offense): 2 points
  • Aggressive driving: 6 points (license suspension for Drivers under 21 years old)
  • HOV lane violation (fourth and subsequent offense): 1 point

Speeding Tickets

If you are 21 years or older and are issued 15 points on your driving record in a two-year time span, Georgia courts and the Georgia Department of Driving Services may suspend your license for a minimum of six months, and may even revoke your Georgia driving privileges. If you are under 21, this can occur if you receive just four points on your license.