Did you know that the legal limit for alcohol is different depending on age? If you are over the ages of 21, then the BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) allowed for operating a vehicle should be below .08. However, if you are under 21, that limit changes to .02!
If it’s your first offense, you could face jail time from 24 hours up until a full year with fines anywhere between $300 and $1000. Not to mention your license could be revoked for up to a year. Second offenders face up to 3 days to 1 year in jail with fines starting at $600 and ending up to $1000. Third offenses can land you in jail for 15 days or even up to a year. A third offense can suspend your license for up for 5 years. Lastly, your fourth offense likely means one to five years in jail, fines of up to $5000 and your license suspended indefinitely!
[table id=4 /]
Unfortunately, there isn’t a definite answer for how many drinks it takes to reach the legal limit in Georgia. It all depends on weight, body fat percentage and length of time in between drinks.
Now you may be wondering what you should do if you’re caught in a situation where you’ve been out for drinks and need to get home. Your safest bet is to call an Uber and pick up your car later because it’s super easy to get arrested for DUI with the legal limit so low and you don’t want to hurt anyone else or yourself. When in doubt, call a cab or a friend to come get you. You’ll be happy you did.
For more information on DUI laws, go to https://www.dmv.org/ga-georgia/automotive-law/dui.php
If you need information on Georgia’s DUI class, we’re more than happy to help! Visit our website here for information, or call us at 770-274-4223 to speak with a representative directly. We know being in the situation where you may need a DUI class isn’t ideal, so we’ll help you get through this experience to the best of our ability.