Am I able to get an insurance reduction when my child completes a state approved Driver’s Education course?
Yes, you are! You should receive a certificate of completion from a school licensed by the state of Georgia providing proof of 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours behind the wheel instruction would make your teenager eligible for a reduction in their insurance premium. Click here for more information!
Your child can also potentially receive an insurance reduction by taking our defensive driving class for the purpose of insurance premium reduction. Click here for more information!
Right now, we have a special going on where if you purchase 10 or more hours of behind the wheel driving lessons (either the lessons themselves or the driving lesson/driver’s education packages), you can take the defensive driving class for insurance premium reduction for FREE!
All you need to do is call your insurance provider, make sure your child is eligible for the discount, and then send the certificates in to the insurance provider to receive your discount! Keep in mind that according to OCGA 33-9-42, if you’re eligible, your insurance provider will give you a discount of UP TO 10%, so make sure you’re receiving exactly what the law says you should receive.
My lawyer told me I need to complete a clinical evaluation. What is that referring to, and do you offer this?
Georgia law requires anyone that has been charged with a DUI or other drug-related charges to complete a clinical evaluation (often called a “Drug and Alcohol evaluation” or a “substance abuse evaluation”) with a state-approved counselor. Each evaluation will last up to one hour.
We offer clinical evaluations on-site through Choice Counseling Centers. These can either be scheduled or completed over your lunch break during class if you request an evaluation in advance.
A message from Choice Counseling Centers:
“We pride ourselves in bringing you the best team of professionals by offering Counseling and clinical Evaluation. All of our counselors are licensed by the State of Georgia and have extensive experience working with a broad range of issues.
Choice Counseling Centers are certified to offer State/DHR approved Drug and Alcohol Evaluations for both first-time DUI offenders and Multiple Offenders. Choice Counseling Centers are also approved to facilitate ASAM Level 1 Treatment Classes in several locations. Anyone with DUI in the state of Georgia must take a Clinical Evaluation. State minimum for a first-time DUI Clinical Evaluation at $110. Lowest allowed by law.
Clinical Evaluation is a one on one session between the DHR approved substance abuse professional and you. If you are charged with DUI, Reckless Driving, Possession, or BUI, you may be required to complete an evaluation by court, probation, or your attorney. This confidential meeting could take up to an hour in the Choice Counseling facilities, with accommodations 7 days a week.”
Choice Counseling is a team of diversely educated professionals committee to fostering personal growth and change in the lives of individuals.
Rebecca Payne: ICADC, CHT
Dr. Sia Parr: D.C., CIT
1 ACT Driving Schools charges $360 for the DUI/risk reduction course and $95 for the defensive driving/driver improvement course. These fees are set and mandated by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS).
If you are taking the defensive driving/driver improvement course for insurance premium reduction ONLY, we are allowed to charge less than $95. However, if you pay less than $95, the certificate you will receive will not be applicable to point reduction, court requirements, or license reinstatement. The Georgia Department of Driver Services allows us to reduce the price for the defensive driving class taken to ONLY reduce insurance premiums. Please call for more information.
Our behind the wheel driving lessons are set with the LOWEST hourly rates in Georgia. The prices depend on how many hours you purchase. Click here for driving lesson prices. We also charge the lowest rates for our online driver’s education course and our classroom driver’s education course. We encourage you to look around at other schools so that you can see that we are being serious about offering you the lowest price for the highest quality service.
*1 ACT Driving Schools reserves the right to change our prices for driving lessons and driver’s education classes at any time and does not guarantee that we will honor previous prices after prices have changed.
Senate Bill 226, also known as “Joshua’s Law,” was passed during the 2005 General Assembly. Beginning January 1, 2007, all 16 year-olds applying for a Class D driver’s license must complete an approved 30 hour driver’s education course as well as at least 6 hours with a Georgia Department of Driver Services certified driving school.
In addition to this requirement, teens must complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, six of which must be at night, with a parent or guardian’s sworn verification that these requirements have been met. Any Georgia resident who has not completed an approved driver’s education course must be at least 17 years-old to be eligible for a Class D driver’s license. He or she must have completed a total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least six hours at night. The same verification in writing by a parent or guardian is required.
1 ACT Driving Schools provides more detailed information on Joshua’s Law here.
1 ACT Driving Schools offers packages to help your teen fulfill the 30/6 Joshua’s Law requirement. Information on our packages and pricing can be found here.
If your child has just moved to the state of Georgia, know that every 16 year-old attempting to get his or her driver’s license must have taken an approved Driver’s Education Course to be issued a license in Georgia. If you have taken a course out of state, please contact DDS here.
The 1 ACT Driving Schools’ cancellation/refund policy is as follows:
If you have already started a class with us, you cannot get a refund for that class.
If you must take a risk reduction course and have taken your NEEDS assessment with us, paid in full, but wish to transfer to another school, as per DDS regulations, we are ONLY required to issue refunds if you are transferring to another school due to a course cancellation, program closure, or documented emergency, or because you have moved over 30 miles away from the location in which you have registered. We will refund you the course fee $260, and transfer your NEEDS assessment.
If WE cancel a defensive driving or driver’s education class, you are entitled to a refund if you would like to attend class at another school.
If you have paid for a defensive driving class and don’t show up on the scheduled date, REFUNDS WILL NOT BE ISSUED.
YOU MUST CANCEL/RESCHEDULE YOUR DEFENSIVE DRIVING CLASS AT LEAST 3 HOURS PRIOR TO YOUR CLASS. If you cancel less than 3 hours before your scheduled class time, REFUNDS WILL NOT BE ISSUED.
Refunds can be issued for driving lessons within 30 days of payment if you have not yet begun your driving lessons. If you have not started your lessons and would like to request a refund within that 30 day period, we will issue a refund and deduct a 20% administration fee from the payment amount. Refunds will NOT be issued after the 30 day period ends. Once you have started taking your driving lessons, NO refunds will be issued, even with 30 days of the payment.
IF driving lessons are cancelled more than 48 hours in advance lessons can be rescheduled. Cancellations must be made more than 48 hours in advance. Cancellations made between 24-48 hours in advance will incur a late fee of $25. Cancellations made less than 24 hours in advance will be nonrefundable and cannot be rescheduled. Early termination of a lesson on behalf of a client will result in a loss of the remaining lesson time, and the session will not be refundable.
NO-SHOWS FOR DRIVING LESSONS ARE NONREFUNDABLE AND CANNOT BE RESCHEDULED. My instructors will wait outside of the pick up location for 15 minutes. Over that period of time, they will call, text, knock on the door/ring the doorbell, or do anything else in their power to reach you. If they have not heard from you after 15 minutes, they are allowed to leave and the lesson is counted as a no-show. That lesson cannot be rescheduled and the money is nonrefundable once the lesson is classified as such.
Driving lesson time cannot be used for road tests under any circumstance.
1 ACT Driving Schools reserves the right to change our prices for driving lessons and driver’s education classes at any time and does not guarantee that we will honor previous prices once prices are changed.
We cater to the Greater Atlanta area as a whole. We go where we know we can serve you best and will be the most accessible to help make your lives easier.
We are currently located in three areas: Sandy Springs and Lawrenceville.
Our Sandy Springs location is at 325 Hammond Dr NE, Suite 103, Sandy Springs, GA 30328.
Our Lawrenceville location is at 377 W. Pike St., Lawrenceville, GA 30046.
Our Doraville location is at 3042 Oakcliff Rd, Suite 210, Doraville, GA 30340.
Our Alpharetta location is at 11925 Jones Bridge Rd, Suite 103, Alpharetta, GA. 30005
Our Marietta location is at 2300 Shallowford Rd Suite 9, Marietta, GA 30066
Click here to view our locations on the map!
1 ACT Driving Schools will provide you with accurate class information if you call us at (770) 274-4223, text us at (404) 590-4570, or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. However, if you want more information, the Georgia Department of Driver Services website has information and FAQ pages for each service we offer. The links are provided below.
Class Information From Department of Driver services:
DDS Regulated 20 Hour DUI/Risk Reduction Class:
DDS Regulated 6 Hour Defensive Driving/Drivers Improvement Class: http://dds.georgia.gov/driver-improvement-program
DDS Regulated Driver Training Program (Prices are not regulated by Department of Driver Services):
Why should you choose 1 ACT Driving Schools?
That’s easy! We pride ourselves in being one of the best driving schools in the Atlanta area.
We offer exceptional service. We’re available by phone 7 days a week, from 8am-9pm and text 24/7.
When you call or text, you will receive detailed and accurate information regarding class details and information.
The service you will receive is nothing short of warm and friendly. You should choose 1 ACT Driving Schools because you matter. You are not just a number to us, and we want to work with you because we genuinely care about helping you.
We are very proud to be known throughout Metro Atlanta area for the most professional and friendliest service offered by any traffic school to our clients. We have over 400 reviews on Google, all of them being 5 stars! We earned each and every one by offering VIP level service to all clients, provided in an pristine facility. Our goal is to make everyone who walks through our doors feel welcome and at home, regardless of their reason for coming to our class. Read our Reviews – we get top marks for cleanliness, friendliness and service!
Please consider taking your classes with us. You’ll be happy that you did!